Australasian Sound Recordings Association

Welcome to

Next Conference

ASRA Conferences

ASRA Journals

Journal Submissions

ASRA Awards - AFE

Affiliations & Links

Membership & Renewal

About ASRA

Current Board

ASRA Facebook

Home Page


Conference 2007 - Preliminary Program

Australasian Sound Recordings Association Conference

“The Art of Audio” at
The National Film & Sound Archive, Melbourne
15th to 17th of August 2007

Conference will be held in the Board Room at the NFSA
Level 1, 144 Moray St, South Melbourne, Victoria.

Conference Registration Form

Day One Wednesday August 15

08:30 Registration

09:15 Welcome (ASRA President Kevin Bradley)

09:30 Keynote AddressNeville Thiele OAM

10:30 Morning Tea

11:00 Session 1 “Location Recording” (Chair: Matthew Davies)

12:30 Lunch

13:30 Session 2 “Recent Audio Technology” (Chair: Joseph Carra)

15:00 Afternoon Tea

15:30 Session 3 "Does Audio Accessibility Sacrifice Quality?" (Chair: Kevin Bradley)

  • Panel members: Joseph Carra, Matthew Davies and Jim Barbour

15:30 Session 3: Sound Walk

  • Anthony Magen will lead the conference delegates on a sound walk of approx. 1 hour, followed by a debrief and group discussion.

17:00 Session 4: Brigid Burke performance with introduction by John Tebbutt

17:20 Reception


Day Two Thursday August 16

08:30 Registration

09:00 ASRA Annual General Meeting

10:00 The Alice Moyle Lecture – presented by Grant Hansen (Chair: Kevin Bradley)

  • Grant Hansen is the CEO of Songlines Aboriginal Music Corporation and Chairman of the South Eastern Indigenous Media Association (SEIMA) which operates Melbourne's first Indigenous owned and managed radio station 3KND.

11:00 Morning Tea

11:30 Session 5 “Discovering artists through recordings” (Chair: Bruce Skilton)

12:30 Lunch

13:30 Session 6 “Sound Art” (Chair: Maryanne Doyle)

15:00 Afternoon Tea with live music performed by “Ionian Groove

15:30 Session 7 “Collecting and Archiving” (Chair: Ken Berryman)

19:00 ASRA Conference Dinner and Awards Presentation


Day Three Friday August 17

08:30 Registration08:30 Registration

09:00 Session 8 “Recording and Performance” (Chair: tbc)

10:30 Morning Tea

11:00 Session 9 “The Australian Record Industry” (Chair: James McCarthy)

12:30 Lunch

13:30 Session 10 “Impact of Technological Change” (Chair: Frances Thiele )

14:30 Conference Finale

15:00 Afternoon Tea




Online since 1998. Copyright © 1979-2019, Australasian Sound Recordings Association (ASRA). All Content & Image Rights Reserved.
ASRA Privacy Policy  |  E&OE. All prices and conditions are correct at time of original publication but are subject to change without notice.
Email Contacts:  |   |   |